Musical Memories – 19 March 2012.

The next top 100 singles chart to be reviewed is from 19 March 2012. This was around the time that I stopped taking notice of pop music and the singles chart, I was 28 by this point and all these new were acts coming along that I wasn’t interested in, so there probably won’t be too many songs that made an impact on me in this chart, but let’s see what happens.

1 (non-mover) “Somebody That I Used To Know” – Gotye Featuring Kimbra. Well luckily we start with a number one single that I am familiar with and I do like. This was number one for five weeks but I don’t remember either Gotye or Kimbra having another hit. This song is not a bad way to be remembered though if you are going to only be a one hit wonder. 45743-raw

11 (non-mover) “Domino” – Jessie J. After passing every other single in the top ten which all seem to feature David Guetta, Nicki Minaj and Sia in various combinations, we come to one of the few pop stars that I’ve enjoyed in the 2010s. I enjoyed a lot of Jessie’s early songs and I was pleased when “Domino” became her second chart-topper. 45484-raw

34 (down 8) “We Found Love” – Rihanna Featuring Calvin Harris. This isn’t my favourite Rihanna song but I just wanted to note the remarkable amount of hits that Rihanna was having at this time. “We Found Love” spent six weeks at number one and Rihanna has now spent more time on the UK singles chart than any other female artist, even easily surpassing her nearest rival Madonna. 

50 (down 1) “Rapture” – Nadia Ali. I remember this one because it was a new version of a song I was talking about on here recently that was a top ten hit for Iio in 2001. This version is actually a re-recording by the original vocalist Nadia Ali who is now credited as a solo artist. So does this count as a cover version of her own song? It’s all very confusing. A decade after “Rapture” was a hit this version barely made the top 40 though rather disappointingly. 45746-raw

57 (up 14) “Gold On The Ceiling” – The Black Keys. As I have said before I’m not a big fan of indie/rock-type music but I’ve always enjoyed seeing some on the chart. This was one that I liked from this group, and although I heard it regularly on the radio, it didn’t make a big impact on the chart.

69 (re-entry) “I’m Not Alone” – Calvin Harris. This was Calvin’s first chart-topper in 2009 and it was great, I do like his earlier ones though such as “Acceptable In The 80s” and “Ready For The Weekend” but it’s great that he’s gone on to further success.

75 (re-entry) “You’ve Got The Love” – Florence And The Machine. I am cheating a little here by picking singles that were hits much earlier than this chart that have re-entered in this week. This is a cover of the Candi Staton classic that was originally a top ten hit in 2009 and this is its 63rd week on the chart which is remarkable. It was then a top ten hit again in 2010 for flame-haired Florence in a duet with Dizzee Rascal. 36148-raw

78 (down 5) “Pumped Up Kicks” – Foster The People. Also skipping over the seemingly massive amount of singles in this chart for Adele and Katy Perry (for now at least), here’s another quirky one that I liked, but once again, this has been their only hit to date.

Leave a Reply

